Barbara Diana

Member for
3 years 11 months

Barbara Diana's picture
Title: Manager, Patient Group Relations EuropeYear joined PA Group: 2012Year joined Genzyme: 1995

Description of your current role and typical activities/responsibilities

I am responsible for Patient Advocacy activities within the European region. My main focus is on Gaucher disease and working with the Gaucher community, as well as supporting patient advocacy initiatives for the rare disease communities we partner with across Europe.

Previous roles/experience, at Genzyme or elsewhere

Genzyme is my first employer. Before working here I studied Marketing, Economics and Languages in Amsterdam. I joined in 1995 as Customer Service representative, during which time I had the pleasure to liaise directly with Gaucher patients, caregivers and hospitals to make sure that patients got their treatment in time. After five years I moved into a European Marketing role for both Gaucher and Fabry disease, when I had the opportunity to engage with physicians and patient organizations and really began to appreciate the value of the power of collaboration between all stakeholders in the rare disease space. Following an internal reorganization, I spent about a year with the Meeting and Events department, and most recently transitioned to the Patient Advocacy team – so even though I am the longest serving Genzyme employee on the team, I am the newest recruit!

What does patient advocacy at Genzyme mean to you?

After 17 years I am still impressed with Genzyme’s commitment to patients, which I have witnessed throughout my career. The shared sense of urgency of doing what is right for the patient communities we work with has always kept us focused on what matters most. In my new role I have a unique opportunity and responsibility to make a significant contribution. Sharing the patient perspective and highlighting the needs of the community within our organisation, and partnering externally with patient organisations on common goals is key to our success.

Tell us one or two things about yourself

Being from an Italian background, I love to cook and spend time with my closest friends and family. Some day in the future I hope to move to a nice country house somewhere in Toscany!